As of December 1st, 2023, Google will start deleting inactive accounts that have not been used for at least two years. The company claims that this is being done for privacy reasons and to free up server space. In May 2023, Google stated that inactive accounts are more likely to be compromised, as they often have outdated or reused passwords and lack two-factor authentication. Google will send warnings via email to inactive accounts before deletion and this policy only applies to personal accounts, not business or education accounts. Some accounts will be exempt from deletion if they have YouTube videos uploaded, an active paid subscription, or hold gift cards. To prevent deletion, users must log into the inactive account and use some of the services. Google Photos has a separate policy – if inactive for two years, all content may be deleted. Microsoft has also implemented a similar policy since 2019, and it is recommended to backup Google accounts using the Takeout feature.
Related Posts
Unbeatable Black Friday Discounts on Speakers from Bose, JBL, Sonos and More
- admin
- November 25, 2023
- 0
Engadget has tested numerous speakers throughout the years, and now Black Friday sales are offering discounts on many of their favorite models. This is especially […]
Unveiling All Playable Characters in The Last of Us Part 2 Remastered’s No Return Trailer
- admin
- December 5, 2023
- 0
Naughty Dog is giving The Last Of Us Part 2 more than just a fresh lick of paint in a PS5 remaster of the game. […]
Unveiling Qualcomm’s Upgraded Snapdragon XR2+ Chip for VR Headsets at CES 2024
- admin
- January 4, 2024
- 0
Qualcomm introduces the Snapdragon XR2+ Gen 2, an update to the standard XR2 Gen 2. The new chip will be showcased at CES 2024 in […]
